The United States closes 5 of its military bases in Afghanistan

The United States of America has closed 5 of its military bases in Afghanistan, as part of a peace agreement with the Taliban.

On Tuesday, a Pentagon official, who preferred not to be identified, said: “The US soldiers withdrew from 5 bases in Afghanistan, within the framework of the agreement”.

He pointed out that “those military bases are located in the states of Helmand and Uruzgan, Paktika and Laghman”.

The US official declined to provide further details about the withdrawal, prior to the official announcement.

The agreement signed by Washington and the Taliban last February in Doha stipulates reducing the number of US soldiers in Afghanistan, whose number is estimated at more than 14 thousand, to 8,600 and 600, and the deadline of 135 days for implementation of this ended on Monday.