The European Union intends to ban the entry of Americans to its territory

The European Union has come close to recommending that travelers from the United States not be allowed into its territory from next July, according to the draft decision being considered by officials.

According to the agency “Bloomberg,” the draft showed that the diplomats largely agreed to allow entry to the European Union from 18 countries including Canada and South Korea, because the level of new cases of Covid-19 matches the criteria.

China is among those countries whose citizens can still enter the European Union, despite ongoing controversy over whether entry will be banned in the end.

While the final list is still subject to change, the United States was not on the list in the first place, which could increase tensions between the European bloc and Washington after their relations suffered a series of strikes in trade and foreign policy already.

The hard-won decision has tremendous geopolitical implications that President Donald Trump could consider as a personal rebuke to the record of the US pandemic’s administration, according to “Bloomberg”.

The United States is exploring the possibility of imposing $ 3.1 billion in additional fees for goods from the United Kingdom, France, Germany and Spain, in a move likely to exacerbate tensions between the two sides of the Atlantic.

According to CNBC, the Office of the United States Trade Representative said in a document issued on Tuesday that Washington is considering adopting an “additional list” of products from France, Germany, Spain and the United Kingdom with fees of up to 100%.