10 points… terms of the Russian-Turkish agreement on the situation in northern Syria

Russian President Vladimir Putin and his Turkish counterpart Recep Tayyip Erdogan have reached a new agreement on the Syrian crisis and Turkey’s military operation “Spring of Peace” against the Kurds in northern Syria.

The ad text reads as follows:

1- Both sides reaffirmed their commitment to maintaining the territorial and political unity of Syria and to protecting Turkey’s national security.

2- The Presidents affirmed the determination to combat terrorism in all its forms and manifestations and to disrupt separatist projects in Syrian territory.

3- In this context, the status quo in the current area of ​​ operation “Spring of Peace” will be maintained, which will cover Tel Abyad and Ras Al Ain at a depth of 32 km.

4- Both parties reaffirmed the importance of the Adana Agreement, and Russia will facilitate its implementation under the present circumstances.

5 – As of 12:00 noon on October 23, 2019, Russian military police and Syrian border guards will enter the Syrian side of the Syrian-Turkish border, outside the area of ​​Operation Spring of Peace, in order to facilitate the removal of YPG elements and their weapons to a depth of 30 km The Syrian-Turkish border should be completed within 150 hours.

At that moment, joint Turkish and Russian patrols will begin west and east of the area of ​​Operation Spring of Peace at a depth of 10 km, with the exception of Qamishli.

6- All YBK elements and their weapons will be removed from Manbij and Tal Rifaat.

7- Both sides will take the necessary measures to prevent the infiltration of terrorist elements.

8- Joint efforts will be launched to facilitate the voluntary and safe return of refugees.

9- A joint monitoring and verification mechanism will be established to monitor and coordinate the implementation of the present note.

10- The two sides will continue to work for a lasting political solution to the Syrian conflict within the framework of the Astana Mechanism and will support the activities of the Constitutional Commission.